Melville has a new look Council

19 October 2021

The City of Melville has a new look council following the local government elections on Saturday, 16 October 2021.

The City of Melville has a new look council following the local government elections on Saturday, 16 October 2021, with three new and two re-elected candidates elected by the Melville community. One candidate was elected unopposed.

Local government elections are held every two years for half of council, with candidates elected using the first-past-the-post voting system. Mayors are elected every four years, with the last Mayoral election in 2019.

City of Melville Chief Executive Officer Marten Tieleman congratulated and welcomed the successful candidates, who were sworn in last night Monday, 18 October at a Special Meeting of Council in the City’s Council Chambers.

“We look forward to working closely and collaboratively with the new council to achieve our community’s vision of an inclusive, vibrant and sustainable future,” said Mr Tieleman.

City of Melville Mayor the Hon. George Gear JP also expressed his gratitude to departing Councillors June Barton and Clive Robartson, who have both retired after 70 years of combined service to the community.

“On behalf of everyone at the City, I’d like to thank Councillors Barton and Robartson for their dedicated service to the community and wish them all the best for the future,” said Mayor Gear.

The City of Melville’s new look council includes:

Mayor – The Hon. George Gear JP (Term of office ends 2023)

Deputy Mayor – Tomas Fitzgerald

Applecross-Mount Pleasant Ward (Applecross, Brentwood & Mount Pleasant)

  • Nicholas Pazolli (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Clive Ross (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bateman-Kardinya-Murdoch Ward (Bateman, Kardinya & Murdoch)

  • Duncan Macphail  (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Nicole Robins (Re-elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bicton-Attadale-Alfred Cove Ward (Alfred Cove, Attadale & Bicton)

  • Glynis Barber (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Jane Edinger (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bull Creek-Leeming Ward (Bull Creek & Leeming)

  • Matthew Woodall (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Jennifer Spanbroek (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Central Ward (Ardross, Booragoon, Myaree, Winthrop)

  • Margaret Sandford (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Katy Mair (Re-elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Palmyra-Melville-Willagee Ward (Melville, Palmyra & Willagee)*

  • Tomas Fitzgerald (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Karen Wheatland (Re-elected unopposed - Term of office ends 2025)

With traditionally low turnout rates for local government elections seen across the State, this year 29.71% of eligible electors in the City of Melville voted, which is a decrease from the 2019 voter turnout of 36.75%.

The 2021 elections were conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission, with a commission appointed returning officer overseeing the election process, taking candidate nominations, receiving votes and supervising the count and declaring the results on election night.

For more information about the City’s elected members, visit To see the full details and results of the 2021 local government visit the Western Australian Electoral Commission’s website

Social Media Share this pageLinks below open in a new window