City of Melville welcomes increased female representation on Council

26 October 2021

The City of Melville is celebrating increased female representation on its Council.

The City of Melville is celebrating increased female representation on its Council with women now forming more than half of the Elected Members following the recent local government elections.

New Councillors Jane Edinger and Jennifer Spanbroek joined re-elected Councillors Karen Wheatland, Nicole Robins and Katy Mair at the Saturday, 16 October election, and alongside incumbent Councillors Glynis Barber and Margaret Sandford, seven of the 13 positions are now filled by women.

City of Melville Mayor the Hon. George Gear JP said the City had a proud history of female leadership including recently retired Councillor June Barton, who was Mayor from 1989 to 1995 and current Councillor Katy Mair was also Mayor from 1995 to 2007.

“Our community’s vision is for an inclusive, vibrant and sustainable future and by having gender diversity on the Council, it will allow us to represent our community and continue to provide good governance and quality services for the community,” said Mayor Gear.

“We’re also proud of the fact that Cr Nicole Robins, then known as Cr Foxton, was first elected in 2009 as a young female councillor at age 19, and that Councillor Karen Wheatland is currently serving as president of the Australian Local Government Women’s Association.

“Women continue to be underrepresented in local government, with the most recent Western Australian Electoral Commission statistics* showing female councillors made up 41% of the elected councillors at the 2019 Local Government Elections in WA.

“To achieve 54% female representation on our Council is a fantastic outcome for our community and I look forward to working with all Councillors to achieve our community’s vision.”

The City of Melville’s new look council includes:

Mayor – The Hon. George Gear JP (Term of office ends 2023)

Deputy Mayor – Tomas Fitzgerald

Applecross-Mount Pleasant Ward (Applecross, Brentwood & Mount Pleasant)

  • Nicholas Pazolli (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Clive Ross (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bateman-Kardinya-Murdoch Ward (Bateman, Kardinya & Murdoch)

  • Duncan Macphail  (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Nicole Robins (Re-elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bicton-Attadale-Alfred Cove Ward (Alfred Cove, Attadale & Bicton)

  • Glynis Barber (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Jane Edinger (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Bull Creek-Leeming Ward (Bull Creek & Leeming)

  • Matthew Woodall (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Jennifer Spanbroek (Newly elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Central Ward (Ardross, Booragoon, Myaree, Winthrop)

  • Margaret Sandford (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Katy Mair (Re-elected – Term of office ends 2025)

Palmyra-Melville-Willagee Ward (Melville, Palmyra & Willagee)*

  • Tomas Fitzgerald (Term of office ends 2023)
  • Karen Wheatland (Re-elected unopposed - Term of office ends 2025)

For more information about the City’s elected members, visit our Elected Members webpage.

To see the full details and results of the 2021 local government visit the Western Australian Electoral Commission’s website

Social Media Share this pageLinks below open in a new window