COVID-19 Information

Visit our COVID-19 Information page for everything you need to know about COVID-19.

Close alert

Twenty Youth Sporting Stars awarded Scholarships

9 September 2019

Twenty of the City’s brightest sporting stars were awarded with a Youth Sports Scholarship (YSS).

Twenty of the City’s brightest sporting stars were awarded with a Youth Sports Scholarship (YSS) at a celebratory presentation held at LeisureFit Booragoon recreation centre on Thursday, 5 September.

City of Melville Mayor Russell Aubrey said the LeisureFit supported YSS allows young sporting stars to stay focused on achieving their goals and live a healthy lifestyle by giving them free access to various facilities at LeisureFit Centres for one year.

“It was an honour to hear from Melville’s sporting stars and our previous YSS recipients speak about the scholarship benefits and they actively encouraged other young athletes to apply,” Mayor Aubrey said.

“Knowing this scholarship makes a difference and supports young people in pursuing their sporting goals and dreams is the reason why I look forward to the YSS presentation each year.”

“It has been great to see the variety of sports pursued by our young athletes with fencing, karate, wheel chair basketball and indoor cricket to name a few!”

“We wish our twenty YSS recipients the best of luck in achieving their sporting aspirations and hope to see them at future Olympic events representing our City and our Country!”


Congratulations to the 2019 YSS winners:    
Alessandra Ho                        Synchronised Swimming
Ben Scotson                           Cricket
Celeste Johns                         Synchronised Swimming
Chantelle Wheatley                 Synchronised Swimming
Charlotte George                    Athletics
Chase Bourne                         AFL
Craig Bruce                             Waterpolo
Esteban Hoarau                      Fencing
Grace Nuttall                           Indoor Cricket
Hannah Burkhill                      Synchronised Swimming
Hannah Sullivan                      Karate
Harry Bruce                            Waterpolo
Jack Clutterbuck                    Athletics
Jane Fruzynski                       Synchronised Swimming
Kayla van der Linden              Running
Kazia Zenke                            Synchronised Swimming
Lauren Hardbottle                   Wheel Chair Basketball
Miranda Templeman              Soccer
Taya Chiappini                        Calisthenics
Zacharie Boglio                       Hockey

The Youth Sports Scholarship runs annually and invites City of Melville applicants aged between 12 and 19 to apply during July and August, with supported documentation from the appropriate Western Australian State Sporting Organisation.

For more information, visit  or contact 1300 635 845 | 9364 0666.

Image 2019 YSS winners. (L to R, BACK ROW: Hannah Sullivan, Zacharie Boglio, Jane Fruzynski, Hannah Burkhill, Harry Bruce, Kazia Zenke, Craig Bruce, Celeste Johns, Ben Scotson, Esteban Hoarau, Chase Bourne L to R FRONT ROW: Cr Wheatland, Taya Chiappini, Kaya van der Linden, Charlotte George, Alessandra Ho, Mayor Aubrey, Grace Nuttal, Cr Barling ABSENT: Lauren Hardbottle, Jack Clutterbuck, Miranda Templeman, Chantelle Wheatly)

Video: Youth at LeisureFit Recreation Centres

Social Media Share this pageLinks below open in a new window