Building Legislation and Design Codes

Building Act and Regulations

The Building Act 2011 and the Building Regulations 2012 outline the process for determining building standards. This legislation provides a comprehensive system of building control, sets standards for building or demolition work in Western Australia, dealing with building or demolition work that affects other land and enforcement of standards by Permit Authorities such as the City of Melville. 

Building Code of Australia

The Building Code of Australia (BCA)
The BCA is used to determine the appropriate classification for a building or incidental structure. It is a national code, which is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB).

The BCA is part of the National Construction Code Series (NCC), containing technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and incidental structures. Regulations may prescribe additional standards for new work and different standards for work on existing buildings.

More information about building classifications is available on the BCA website.

Residential Design Codes

Residential Design Codes (R-Codes) control the design of most residential development throughout Western Australia. The R-Codes aim to address emerging design trends, promote sustainability, improve clarity and highlight assessment pathways to facilitate better outcomes for residents. They are also used for the assessment of residential subdivision proposals. For more information visit the Department of Planning Lands and Heritage website.

Social Media Share this pageLinks below open in a new window

Was this page helpful?
Page Helpful