City’s Youth Sporting Stars awarded Scholarships

Eighteen of the City’s brightest sporting stars were awarded Youth Sports Scholarships (YSS) that aim to support, nurture and enhance outstanding sporting abilities at a celebratory presentation held at LeisureFit Booragoon on Wednesday, 13 September.

City of Melville Mayor Russell Aubrey said the sports scholarship empowers young Melville athletes to reach new sporting heights by providing financial assistance of free access to the City’s award winning LeisureFit Centres for a year.

 “Every year we are dumbfounded by the exceptional talent and high level of commitment from the City’s sporting youth. It is with great pride that we support these young athletes and look forward to seeing their continued success in the future.

“It was great to see some familiar faces of previous YSS winners, demonstrating the continued dedication and determination of our future adult sporting stars.

“With a variety of sporting activities sponsored this year, I look forward to seeing our sporting stars compete at international level.  We may have future Melville Olympic heroes among us,” Mayor Aubrey said.

Congratulations to the 2017 Scholarship winners:

Aaron Hardie


Alastair Bruce


Alessandra Ho

Syncronised Swimming

Cassia Boglio


Cody Smith


Hannah Burkill

Syncronised Swimming

James Leigh


Jane Fruzynski

Syncronised Swimming

Kazia Zenke

Syncronised Swimming

Kayla van der Linden


Marnie Kennedy

Synchronised Swimming

Owen Roberts-Mok


Patrick Tichelaar


Sean Beck


Steffan Nero

Cricket/Goal Ball

Tamila Andreeva

Synchronised Swimming

Toby Muir


Zacharie Boglio


The Youth Sports Scholarship runs annually and invites City of Melville applicants aged between 12 and 19 to apply during July and August, with supported documentation from the appropriate Western Australian State Sporting Organisation.

For more information visit or call 1300 635 845 | 9364 0666.