Award Nominations

Do you know City of Melville volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to their community?

Mayors Youth Citizenship Awards

Mayors Valued Citizen Awards

Australia Day Awards

Mayors Youth Citizenship Awards 2017

The Mayor’s Youth Award for Citizenship recognises school aged students that have made
a significant contribution to their school or community in the City of Melville.

To be eligible to receive the award, a Mayor’s Youth Citizen must:

  • Must be school aged students who have given extended service to their
  • school community for 1 year or more,
  • Those who have demonstrated care for others in the community, and/or, the environment.
  • Must be a school aged City of Melville resident

Who can nominate:

  • Must be nominated by the principal of their school

The 2017 Mayor's Youth Citizenship Award recipients are;

  • Alicia Ross-Adams, Applecross Senior High
  • Jack Warwick, Kennedy Baptist College
  • Darcy Pickett, Santa Maria College
  • Steven Thiele, All Saints College
  • Michael Fallon, All Saints College

Mayors Valued Citizen Awards 2017

The award was established in 2011 by Mayor Russell Aubrey as a way of celebrating the tenth anniversary of the International Year of the Volunteer. After an overwhelming response the Mayor decided the awards will be an annual event.

To be eligible to receive the award, a Mayor’s Valued Citizen must:

  • Either live in the City of Melville, or be involved with a not-for-profit organisation
    in the City of Melville,
  • Have made a valuable contribution to the community for 10 years or more with
    the one organisation,
  • Can not be in a paid role at their organisation at any time during the
    10 year period.

Who can nominate:

  • Nominations must be received by the President or Volunteer Manager of
    the organisation,
  • Community members are encouraged to inform the President or
    Volunteer Manager of the award and refer possible candidates
    for nomination.

The 2017 Mayor's Valued Citizens are;

  • Lyn Pellick, 12 years, ICCWA Walking Group
  • Bill Corry, 20 years, Neighbourhood Watch
  • Muriel Corry, 20 years, Neighbourhood Watch
  • Diana Collingridge, 10 years, Willagee Community Centre
  • Geoff Hurle, 10 years, Willagee Community Centre
  • Gwen Stagg, 10 years, Melville Citizens’ Relief Fund
  • Pat Richards, 10 years, Willagee Community Centre
  • Allan Watson, 11 years, Capital Community Radio
  • David Sefton, 12 years, Capital Community Radio
  • Geoff Smith, 11 years, Capital Community Radio
  • Margaret Halgren, 11 years, Capital Community Radio
  • Paul Redman, 11 years, Capital Community Radio
  • Ross Cussons, 11 years, Capital Community Radio
  • Kirsten Tannenbaum, 31 years, Australian Breastfeeding Association
  • Beryl De Petra, 16 years, St John of God Hospital Murdoch
  • Catherine Nunes, 17 years, St John of God Hospital Murdoch
  • Dale Henshaw, 16.5 years, St John of God Hospital Murdoch
  • Carole White, 17 years, St John of God Hospital Murdoch
  • Shirley Stubber, 12 years, St John of God Hospital Murdoch
  • Gloria Oldenhof, 27 years, The Girls' Brigade
  • Simon Griffiths, 15 years, Scouts Australia
  • Paul Breuer, 12 years, Bull Creek Tennis Club

Australia Day Awards

The Australia Day Awards recognise persons and groups who have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year or given outstanding service to the local community for a number of years.

This year’s award winners were;

Australia Day - Citizen of the Year Winner

Ann Taylor
Ann has been a committed volunteer to at Princess Margaret Hospital Volunteers, Anglican Parish of Applecross Mothers Union Group, World Organisation for Early Childhood Education W.A. Association and Association for the Welfare of Children in Hospital WA (AWCH) for decades, taking an active role in all of them. Ann is driven, immersing herself in volunteering service at PMH and has been providing great support, encouragement and advice. She is a fantastic role model to other volunteers and staff in these organisations.

Australia Day - Youth Citizen of the Year (under 25 years of age) Winners

Darcy Pickett
Darcy has been an active, committed and passionate advocate for volunteering in the community. She has assisted many organisations such as Young Vinnies with the annual street appeals, St Patrick’s Care, Soup Patrol, Relay for Life and Run for a Reason.

Steven Thiele
Steven is an outstanding student who encourages and supports volunteering in the school and community. He has assisted with Salvation Army red shield appeal, Friday night games, UN youth programs and the war memorial for wireless hill.

Australia Day - Community Group of the Year Winner

Attitudinal Healing WA
Attitudinal Healing WA (AHWA) has played a key role in raising awareness and breaking down the stigma for people in our City living with dementia. AHWA has been key to the success of the Garden City Memory Café by offering support by way of social interaction to both people living with dementia as well as to carers. Volunteers from AHWA have also offered to assist with walking groups and reading to people living with dementia. The Heathcote Art Tours for people with dementia is another partnership where volunteers from AHWA have conversations about art and what the artwork means to the individuals and their carers who attend the tours.

The winners of the awards received $400 to donate to their community group or chosen charity while the nominators each receive a $100 for the same purpose.

Congratulations to all the award recipients! Nominations for 2019 will open shortly.